summer reading list

Right now I’m in the middle of seven different books, and still with two papers to write and an exam to take. But once I finish all that, here’s my highly hopeful summer reading list. Assuming I don’t get bound into other pages.

– What is the What by Dave Eggers. I love Eggers but am way behind the times on reading him.

– Batwoman: Elegy by Greg Rucka. I need more graphic novels in my life.

– The Brothers Karamazov by Fyodor Dostoevsky. This is referenced in approximately half of my seminary readings; it must be consumed.

– Audacity of Hope by the POTUS. It’s an election year, you know.

– Mindfulness in Plain English by Bhante Henepola Gunaratana. Recommended to me by an amazing yoga instructor.

– Power of Myth by Joseph Campbell.

– Walking on Water by Madeleine L’Engle.

– Utopia by Thomas More.

– American Primitive by Mary Oliver. For a lit person, I don’t really love poetry, so I’m trying to learn.

– The Serpent Slayer & Other Stories of Strong Women by Katrin Tchana. Feel like I’ll be needing this this summer.

And my backup list, for if I actually manage to make it through those and want more. Or if I burn through one type of book (probably fiction first) and need more of that typte:

Out of Oz by Gregory Maguire. Can’t not finish a series.

– Fluke by Christopher Moore.

– Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott. Although hopefully I’m writing, not reading about writing.

A Generous Orthodoxy by Brian McLaren. In preparation for Wild Goose Fest West.

– View with a Grain of Sand by Wislawa Szymborska. More poetry!

– Feminist Theory and Christian Theology by Serene Jones. Recommended by a professor at The Seattle School.

What are you reading this summer? What criteria do you use to pick your reading?

If you want reviews on any title in particular, leave a comment and I’ll make sure to write up my thoughts when I finish it. For progress updates, friend me on goodreads.

Leave a Reply

